## WASHINGTON STATE BICYCLE ASSOCIATION

Board of Directors Conference Call September 12, 2016

Participating: Ted Chauvin, David Chipchase, David Hills, Joe Holmes, Gina Kavesh, Eric Johnson, Jerry Long, Martha Walsh, Marshall Will

President Gina Kavesh called the meeting to order at 7:00 pm.

Minutes were approved for the board meetings on June 13, 2016 (Eric abstained) and August 3, 2016.

The board chose Saturday, December 17 as the date for the 2016 annual meeting of the WSBA. For the elections to be held at that meeting, nominations will be sought for the following board positions open this year:

East Region (currently held by Ted Chauvin)

West Region (currently held by David Hills)

Oregon Region (new position)

Cyclocross (currently held by Jim Wood)

Track (currently held by Eric Johnson)

Officials (currently held by Al Cronin)

David Chipchase, Jerry Long, and Martha Walsh will comprise this year's nominating committee and follow the steps and timeline in the bylaws for soliciting nominations from the membership.

Cyclocross discussion focused on USAC national championships in 2018 to take place in Reno, Nevada, and the current call for bids for the championships in 2019 and 2020. More WSBA members are likely to participate if nationals are closer to home, and thus the WSBA will continue to emphasize to its members the need to participate in USAC events in order to earn call-up points for USAC national championships.

The WSBA will continue to make its equipment available for rental for cycling events in the region but will request from every user either a copy of the certificate of insurance or proof that the WSBA is a named insured under the event's policy. This protects the WSBA investment in its equipment.

Scheduling is underway for the 2017 road racing season. Board members will continue to evaluate whether the BARR and junior series are the best means to "incentivize" members to participate in events throughout the season. Also underway are updates to the website and building a budget for 2017.

The meeting was adjourned at 7:59 pm.